Major Grants and Funding

(PI) 2018-2020: Rheumatoid Arthritis Flare Profiler (£663,290). Partners: Living With, NHS. InnovateUK

(Co-I) 2018-2022: Bristol and Bath Creative Cluster (~£4m). Partners: UWE, University of Bristol, Bath Spa University AHRC

(PI) 2017-2019: DOVE: Deformable Objects for Virtual Environments (£562,559 FEC). Partner: Marshmallow Laser Feast, Heston's Fat Duck. Innovate UK

(PI) 2016-2018: HARPC: HMC for Augmented Reality Performance Capture (£517,616 FEC). Partner: The Imaginarium. Innovate UK

(PI) 2015-2020: Centre for the Analysis of Motion, Entertainment Research and Applications - CAMERA (£ 4,998,728 FEC). Partners: The Imaginarium, The Foundry, Ministry of Defence, British Maratime Technologies, British Skeleton. EPSRC/AHRC. (not including partner contributions, ~£5,000,000).

(PI) 2015-2017: Biped to Animal (£108,109 FEC). Parter: The Imaginarium. Innovate UK.

(PI) 2015: Goal Oriented Real Time Intelligent Performance Retargeting  (£29,997 FEC). Partner: The Imaginarium. Innovate UK.

(Co-I) 2013-2016: Acquiring Complete and Editable Outdoor Models from Video and Images (£1,003,256 FEC). EPSRC.

(PI-Bath) 2014-2017: Visual Image Interpretation in Man and Machine (VIIMM) (£121,030 FEC). Partner: University of Birmingham. EPSRC

(PI) 2012-2016: Next Generation Facial Capture and Animation (£100,887 FEC). Partner: Double Negative Visual Effects. The Royal Society Industry Fellowship.

(PI) 2007-2012: Exploiting 4D Data for Creating Next Generation Facial Modelling and Animation Techniques (£460,640FEC). The Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship.

Other funding: PhD Studentships, EPSRC Innovation Acceleration Account (IAA), Nuffield Foundation.

Researchers and Engineers


Martin Parsons (CAMERA); Nadejda Roubtsova (CAMERA); Murray Evans (CAMERA); Yiguo Qiao (Living With/RUH/InnovateUK)


Sinead Kearney; Maryam Naghizadeh; Eleanor Crellin; Jake Deane


Kyle Reed (Cubic Motion); Catherine Taylor (Marshmallow Laser Feast)


Jose Serra (Industrial Light and Magic), Anamaria Ciucanu, Pedro Mendes, Shridhar Ravikumar (Amazon); Alastair Barber (The Foundry); Wenbin Li (UCL); Han Gong (UEA/Cambridge/Edinburgh/Apple); Charalampos Koniaris (Disney Research); Daniel Beale; Sinan Mutlu; Nicholas Swafford